Jaimini astrology and Atmakaraka

The natural Atmakaraka is the Sun in all natal charts.

The functional Atmakaraka can be Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Saturn and Rahu depending on its degree in the Vedic birth chart. The planet that has the highest degree is considered the functional Atmakaraka ( Chara Atmakaraka )

The following karakas exist in Jaimini astrology.

  1. Atmakaraka or Chara Atmakaraka 
  2. Amatyakaraka 
  3. Bhratrukaraka 
  4. Matrukaraka 
  5. Putrakaraka 
  6. Gnatikaraka 
  7. Darakaraka 

The above karakas are identified based on degrees. The planet with highest degree will be Atmakaraka ( Chara Atmakaraka )and the next planet with a lesser degree will be Amatyakarka and will go on in descending order.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s